65.4 F
Thursday, December 8, 2022
** Preferred Partner - click for more info **Red Flag Reputation

Indiana counties not covered by new CDC eviction moratorium can change

The vast majority of Indiana is covered by a new federal eviction freeze after the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention issued a moratorium targeting counties hardest hit by COVID-19.

All but eight Indiana counties are included in the new action due to their substantial or high levels of COVID-19 transmission. The eight that aren’t covered are Brown, Daviess, LaGrange, Martin, Ohio, Randolph, Union and Wayne.  

That could change based on each county’s coronavirus transmission rates in the next 60 days.

As of Tuesday, each of those eight counties had moderate levels of transmission, according to the CDC. Under the new order, if a county initially not included experiences a significant uptick in community spread of the virus, the eviction ban will apply to it on the day the substantial or high transmission level begins.

It works the other way, too. If a county covered by the eviction ban now no longer has substantial or high transmission for 14 consecutive days, the order will expire.

The CDC defined substantial transmission as counties with 50-99 cumulative cases per 100,000 people or a positivity rate between 8-9.9% in the past seven days.  

The agency’s threshold for a high transmission rate includes counties with cases greater than, or equal to, 100 cases per 100,000 people or a positivity rate of 10% or higher.

Most of Indiana has substantial or high transmission, according to the CDC’s map. None of the counties have low transmission. 


Related Articles

Latest Articles